Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Keep it clean.....

I don't really 'get' poetry. I find the way it is written gets in the way of understanding what is being said and I can't concentrate on it. In fact, I normally have to re-read it about three times before any of it sinks in. I think it's the way my mind works; I'm much happier doing a Soduko than a crossword, and if I'm reading I'll always choose non-fiction over fiction. Which all makes it rather unfortunate that the mono Monday theme today is to picture something that reminds you of your favourite poem. Well, as I'm not 'into' poetry, I don't have a favourite poem, but that hasn't stopped me having a go. So my picture today is an attempt at visualising the following masterpiece by an unknown author:

There once was a man from Nantucket
Who kept all his cash in a bucket.
    But his daughter, named Nan,
    Ran away with a man
And as for the bucket, Nantucket.

But he followed the pair to Pawtucket
The man and the girl with the bucket;
    And he said to the man,
    He was welcome to Nan,
But as for the bucket, Pawtucket.

Then the pair followed Pa to Manhasset
Where he still held the cash as an asset,
    But Nan and the man
    Stole the money and ran,
And as for the bucket, Manhasset.


I'm sure that SK who is hosting Mono Monday this month will be relieved that I didn't choose the more ribald version.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.