An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Friday Wine...

David and Kenny were up at 3am and left the house at 4am to head to Edinburgh for their flight to Portugal.  Lola, the brilliant guard dog that she is, slept through their departure and didn't bat an eyelid.  

My alarm went off at 7am.  I listened and couldn't hear Lola barking so assumed she was still asleep then I got a text from Ele asking if I was coming downstairs to get Lola's breakfast.  Turns out Lola woke up at 6.30 but I hadn't heard her.  Ele went down and took her outside to do her business and have a wee run around.   

By the wonders of technology I logged into my flight radar app and could watch David's flight taking off from Edinburgh airport and then track it on it's journey.  How spooky.

I dished breakfast and it was scoffed in less than a minute!  Lola then flaked out so Ele went for her shower while I kept and eye on Lola.  

Willie the decorator arrived.  He lets himself in, which is great.  Made him a cuppa and started putting up the last bit of wall paper in the entrance hall.  I am so pleased with it.  I'm always nervous about choosing wallpaper as it's an expensive thing to get wrong but this has turned out just as I hoped it would.  

Once Ele was back downstairs I went for my shower and got dressed.  I logged back onto the flight radar app just as their flight was coming in to land a Faro airport so I know they'd arrived safely half an hour before I received the obligatory text from David.

And so today has gone by in a bit of a whirlwind.  Lola has either been asleep or running about mad keeping us on our toes.  Three times she's given us a fright.  The first time an empty dog poo bag fell out of Ele's jacket pocket and she nabbed it and started chewing it.  Ele had to prize it out of her mouth.  Later on she chewed a huge bit of rubber off her hardiest chew toy.  Thankfully the offer of a treat made her drop that but only after a lot of persuasion.  Finally, when I was making the chilli for tomorrow night's dinner, I dropped the lid of a tin of tomatoes and she grabbed that and hd the whole of it in her mouth.  I had visions of it ripping her tongue and cheeks to shreds!  Again Ele managed to get it out of her mouth.  By the time she'd done that, it was definitely time for much needed Friday night wine...and I don't really drink wine!!!

Lola was having her mad half hour while we ate our dinner so that wasn't particularly restful.  Now she needs to go our of her final pee but is fast asleep and I know if we wake her and take her out she will be awake for ages again.  Hey Ho.

Please accept my apologies in advance as it's unlikely I will even get to look at blip far less comment this weekend.  Number of visitors this weekend are swelling by the minute.  Hoping I have enough food to feed everyone! :-)


Have a good weekend everyone x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.