BOSTON MEMORIES

When I was on my Boston trip Betsey and I went to take a look at the the famous bronze ducks created by Nancy Schön located in the Public Garden.  Ever since being installed in the Garden in 1987 the magical sculpture of Mrs. Mallard and Jack, Kack, Lack, Mack, Nack, Ouack, Pack, and Quack has been one of the most popular Boston attractions for kids. ( and adults too I think )The statues are based on a book called  Make Way For Ducklings written By Robert McCloskey and first published in 1941.  Just imagine how many children have read this book over the years - or had it read to them by their parents and grandparents. 

When I got home I decided to buy my own copy of the book ( got it on Ebay for the princely sum of £3.10.)  In my blip you can see the statues and the front cover of the book as well as one of the beautifully illustrated pages.

I had to get up early this morning as I was expecting a parcel delivery.  It came on time.  I did a few jobs around the house as I wasn't in too much pain.  However I soon got weary and fell asleep on the sofa.  Around 3pm I decided to go to The Metrocentre.  Thought a slow wander around the malls would be beneficial.  The place was packed - with students.  Turns out it was " Student Night" with lots of deals and discounts available for them. ( I did get some free diet coke as I wandered around )

I went into M & S for fruit but was distracted as there was a Sale on.  Spent £4.50 on fruit ---- and £47 on clothes.  Funny how that happens.

I feel OK this evening so hopefully I will just continue to improve over the coming days.

Update on Mason - my new great nephew born in Australia a few days ago.  He came home from hospital but he has had to go back in as he wasn't putting on any weight.  He was 3 weeks premature so its a bit of a worry. 

Steps today - 8,888

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.