Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Cacti

I would have LOVED to have had these for Flower Friday, but unfortunately, I am travelling to Oman and who knows what I'll see, so another challenge missed. I do LOVE these cacti though. SO cute; I love all the different types and the flowers just blow me away, but most of all, I like them because they remind me of my mum and a trip to Germany sometime in 1978 when we first saw these and went berserk, and my mum let us buy some and bring them all the way back to Dubai where they continued to live for several years! :D

Today has been pretty non-stop and ended pretty late; so late, I am blipping this on Friday afternoon whilst I get ready to leave for Oman...

Spent the morning getting the car ready i.e. tyre pressure and oil levels checked; then a thorough wash in the automatic car wash. (I like the car to be clean on the inside). Then home for lunch and to meet up with G, who could have finished really early today had some class teachers bothered to tell her her student was out on a field trip. Oh well. She is off now for half term!

G took on the responsibility to do the main talk for AWANA this evening, so recruited my help to get a Powerpoint presentation ready; talking on the theme of Halloween! Very topical and it was a huge success! She even received messages late in the evening to thank her.

The biggest thing of the day though, was getting picked up after AWANA and going to the Irish Village where Heather Small, Aswad and The Pretenders performed on the same stage. I didn't think I liked them enough to buy tickets, but it was good to sit nearby and have a meal and listen to the music! I have to say - The Pretenders were more than a little politically incorrect, and from some of the things Chrissie Hynde said, I am so pleased I didn't pay money to see her. She's got a real aversion to people taking pictures on their phone and apart from calling her fans (rude) names, broke one of their phones!

Met up with friends Stevie and Diane later. They were at the concert and walked over to see us. We ended up chatting till past 1:30 and then because of bridge closures at that time of the morning night, we didn't get home till 2:30am! Had to unwind with a cup of tea. It got extremely humid towards the end of the evening (65%). Yuck. We were all a bit er, soaked!

Please will you click on this link to help donate free mammograms? Thank you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.