Bramble Blossom

TT is away with work again over this weekend, which meant I had to make sure I didn’t sleep in as I had to get BB to football before 9am. I got up quite easily and was hanging my washing out in the half dark.  As he was playing locally today, I had thought we would walk.  However getting BB out of bed proved less than easy, so in the end I had to drive and we made it just in time.  After checking that the opposition were there, I went off for a  river walk.  It was really dull and very windy, but not cold. As ever BB was starving after football and had to be fed. French toast was his request.

Once my second load of washing was blowing wildly in the wind, we headed to East Linton.  We had a walk, taking in Phantassie Doocot, Preston Mill and Smeaton.  I bought some bulbs at Smeaton to put in the new planter I got from Crail Pottery, and we had a late lunch in the lovely tea  room.  I had a disappointed BB though, as he wanted a baked potato, and they had none left.  BB was also quite cross, as two little boys at the next table were being really noisy, and he wanted peace to read his book.  He complained bitterly as we walked to Smeaton Lake, as he had only been able to read ten pages!! 

I was really amused when a man came and asked me how to get into the tea room – when I pointed to the door, he said , It says do not enter.  I had to point out that it is almost Halloween.  And then after him we saw another two couples approaching the door, then going to look for another way in!  The Halloween decorations were scaring their customers away!

It was home for cello practice - which took a very long time, then a Chinese takeaway and Strictly Halloween.

These bramble flowers caught my eye as we walked around Smeaton Lake.   BB also found a few brambles on the same bush.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.