Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Peace and love and potatoes

"There's Trains. There's John Keats. There is Joan of Arc. There are trucks and boats and ship. With chips.
What's so funny about peace, love and understanding?"

John Hegley certainly made us laugh tonight during an hour long performance of mainly poems, but also prose and songs. Audience participation was encouraged and we loved it. He was in the Café at the Queens Hall, Hexham as part of the occasional programme for the Hexham Book Festival (27th April to 6th May 2018).

Mum is improving but still not well enough to come out, so the other Marjorie came with me. We were right in the front. Her handmovements for the jellyfish in one poem were so good that she had to stand up and show the rest of the audience. (I'm not sure she is coming out with me again, after that!)

On my way our to Hexham, I called for fish and chips, something we rarely consume, but a way to deal with the fact that I had not cooked anything for tea. In the shop, I found JH behind me in the queue and he was nice enough to ask me to send him this photo.

This morning was the washup meeting for the Walking Festival. It's always a long meeting with lots to discuss. I was chairing but I didn't manage to speed it up at all.  The festival was a great success, but the most challenging for organisation ever. Bookings were 59 up on last Autumn so that's great. Gwen and Chris have joined the committee, so that's great too.

Home for a late lunch and then a quick snooze before Dick and Angus came to pick up more leaves and cut the grass. Dick that is - Angus just wanted me to throw the ball for him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.