Welcome smiles on a sad day

Today I attended the funeral of Sally, a young woman who had been a payroll colleague while I was in pensions at Cambridgeshire. Taken far too soon, she was remembered fondly by many of her old payroll colleagues today. Some who had not worked together for 15 or more years, and others who had been there right up to the blanket redundancies in 2014 which affected both departments.

There was sadness of course, but this was a solid team who worked well together back in the day, and they were all here to pay their respects. Back at the pub for the wake, they enjoyed a long over due catch up and included Lorraine and I from pensions in their recollections and memories. Sal was thought highly of in her local where the wake was held, and her close friends and family celebrated her life in a positive way today.

If you are in my photo, then I hope you don't mind me blipping you today. I think Sally would be glad there were smiles and not just tears.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.