Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Look who came for a walk with me

Yes, it's Zoe. We used to walk regularly, but since she moved to Corbridge the opportunities have been fewer. Today she came to work with Annette; Annette worked and Zoe was in the car. She had a good run around our garden. I was in and getting a bit bogged down with my jobs, so I needed no excuse to don my trainers and take Zoe out.

We had a good time in the empty fields behind the houses and I was delighted when she came back when called. (After a gap I wondered how she would react.)

We met children from our village school. They had been out in the woods for Friday afternoon's "forest school" and had brightly coloured wools attached to pieces of twig. They were chatty and happy on a grey day.

Tonight I was at Northern Stage with Julie for "Instructions for Border Crossing". It was a one man show with audience participation. I was first up, before the play began, to play Jenga with the actor. The play was intriguing but just didn't work for me. I felt that something vital was missing. He had a cold too and I nearly offered a clean hankie after he sniffed his way through the script.

We had a coffee and chat afterwards.

Sad news that our friend Margaret across the road (not Margret next door) has died after a short illness. She was at the heart of many village activities and included us in one of her luncheon parties very soon after we moved in. She was in very poor health so I cannot wish more life upon her. I used to walk her last dog when she was unable to exercise her due to arthritis.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.