Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A lively documentary group

Today was the RPS Northern Region Documentary Group meeting at Kibblesworth. We had a good turn out and a selection of brilliant images to look at and discuss.

They ranged from young men making aluminium pots in Madagascar (the cheap, unprotected labour force works in a dangerous environment) to slum dwellers in Calcutta (very moving sensitive and dignified images) to the run-down buildings in South Bank (Middlesbrough) to people in the futuristic new building that is Arhem Railway Station, to Durham Miners' Gala with Jeremy Corbyn, to the Goth Weekend in Whitby, to Americana at the Sage Gateshead, to Mela (Asian festival) in Newcastle. I presented a series of prints from my recent early morning trip to the Malaga Market.

I nearly forgot that one set of prints, from Cuba, were shown in colour and mono and we discussed the relative merits. We have some passionate mono workers in the group.

It was just great. We had two new members and a visit from Carol P, who is the new regional organiser for the RPS Northern and who has set about providing a very lively programme of events.

I nearly forgot to take a picture. When I snapped this one I did not see the wagging fingers. I'm sure the gestures were used only to emphasise points, but I laughed when I realised that I had caught 2 fingers and not just one. My panel of prints is on the table.

I shopped in Hexham on my way home.

Mum continues to improve.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.