A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Albert Street,

Saltaire.

After a pleasant morning walk around the St Ives Estate I popped down to Saltaire whilst Chris made red onion and carrot soup for lunch.

I got what I wanted in one of the shops down Victoria Rd. plus a couple of Christmas presents (one for me!) so then I had a little wander around for a blip. All the streets are named after Victoria's family so no surprise that this is Albert Street. It runs alongside the railway and is the only remaining cobbled street I believe.

At the end of the street you can see Salts Mill for which this village was built and all is now a UNESCO World Heritage Site which I'm sure most of you know.
Won't be long before the Advent windows start around the village here, doesn't seem two minutes since last year.

You can just see that the sky is brightening on here and we had a sunny afternoon so I put some washing out when I got home. The accompanying wind helped dry the grass so,Chris is giving it a last cut just before it gets dark.

The soup was very nice by the way.

The extra is Victoria Hall in the centre of the village

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.