An Evening In Bath

Since I’ve taken a break from my Physio appointments while I’m waiting to see an Orthopaedic consultant next week, I decided to get away for a few days and see a few friends and family. So this afternoon I drove to Warminster in Somerset to stay with my friend Vanessa. After a quick cup of tea she took me to the train station and I headed to Bath where I had dinner plans with my nephew and his wife.

I had about an hour to spare before they got done with work, so I wandered around the city a bit and walked towards the Abbey. I don’t get to Bath very often and I saw a whole shopping area I’d never seen before. I loved the Tardis outside the train station and the old telephone kiosk cleverly transformed into a floral display - one of several around the city. Christmas is getting set up and Frosty the Snowman was already there and he had just got a dousing of snow!

In front of the Abbey was a huge cross covered in poppies still there from Remembrance Sunday. Nearby they were finishing off the building of the ‘Alpine Village Huts’ in preparation for the Christmas Market which starts next week. I wonder if I’ll find time to come back?

My nephew Tim and his wife Kay live close to the city centre and are doing a very ambitious house extension so I met them there so I could see the project in progress. I love to see building sites and I was really exciting to see what they are having done. Amazingly they hope it will be done and they can move back in before Christmas so I’ll look forward to my next visit soon!

We had a delicious dinner at their favourite Pizza place - I was very controlled and didn’t sacrifice my low-carb diet and indulged in a very yummy salad instead - full of favourite things like Gorgonzola cheese, onions and walnuts.

It was soon time to say goodbye and head back to Warminster. I had a lovely evening and hope I’ll make it back there again soon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.