Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Romance in Tesco (other supermarkets available)

You know you are finally on the mend when you are excited about doing a big supermarket shop. We've managed well while I've been ill and had good help from friends, but we were running low on a number of things.

This morning was quiet although I was on sink unblocking duty. This time it was in Mum's bathroom sink, where the water had been running slowly for a few days and finally stopped flowing. I have an insurance policy that covers such emergencies so I called, (after my initial attempts with a plunger failed), to be told that the first appointment in my area was on Thursday. I was not impressed. It's not what I shell out large amounts of money for.

Not to be daunted I found some old sink unblocking granules and they worked. I then did all the other sinks in the house. Finally there was a horrid smell in the cloakroom that I could not trace at first. It turned out to be a decomposing mouse. Oh joy!

After such a lovely morning, I set off to Hexham and shopped in Tesco and Aldi. I had in mind that I needed to find a couple who would be romantic for today's Mono Monday Challenge. As luck would have it, Chris, who drives a lot of our festival coaches, was there with his wife. I waited for them after the checkout and they were good sports.

Chris fell earlier in the year and smashed his left elbow. He had surgery and is just back at work. He is in integral part of our festival so that is good news

The volunteers for the festival are meeting tonight for one of our regular get togethers. It gives us a chance to hear if there are any problems from their point of view and to explain what the committee is up to. A finger buffet will be provided, but, as they say, there is no such thing as a free supper, so they will have to do a bit of work later on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.