Christmas Prep

We always put our Christmas tree up on the first weekend in December, so this year is no exception.

I had my planned lie in, getting up at 7.45 to make the tea and feed the chickens. The garden is pretty waterlogged after the weather we have had this week. It will stay wet now until spring I expect.

After breakfast Jon and I took a brief trip in to Crome r but didn't get what we wanted. Hopefully there will be a delivery before Christmas. Then home to pick up Henry who had had a teenage style lie in until at least 11. We drove to Alby to meet up with Lynn and Maurice and Brian for coffee, lots of chatting and lunch. It is always nice seeing Lynn. We exchanged university stories as her niece has recently finished at Liverpool and Maurice's grandson is currently enjoying his time at Portsmouth Uni. We then had a quick walk about the craft fair. It was chilly but Jon bought me a lovely hand knitted hat.

When we got home it was the right time to start decorating. Last year i bought a real tree, from Morrisons, which had roots. It was only £20 and I planted it in the garden afterwards. It is still thriving now but I'm not digging it up! So I went up in the loft and passed the bags and boxes down to Henry. He then put the tree up and tackled the lights, decorations and all the other bits and bobs. He finished with the nativity scene but I know he missed having his siblings, well Mollie mainly, to share the job. We haven't finished and I will make a wreath sometime between now and the 25th.

We've had the tv on with random rubbish Christmas films running on channel 5. Followed by Superman the Christopher Reeve 1978 version which I do like!!! How can that have been nearly 40 years ago?

Next Strictly after Pointless to end a lovely day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.