Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Singing in Shona

Another two-engagements day! We decided to skip church as time would be too tight to get to the Salvation Army meeting in Sharjah for 1:30. They were marking two things - their Self Denial week as well as something for Christmas. The "Self Denial" part is once a year when people give one weeks' wages to causes that help people around the world - where most needed. Geraldine & I were asked to do a Christmas song, so we chose "Go Tell it on the Mountain".

We had to leave almost immediately, as the meeting went on longer than expected. There was just enough time to get home to collect the sausage rolls that G had prepared for the Cantata! EBCI's annual Christmas presentation, it is in its 21st year now!

I think it was the best one they've ever done, and sadly, as I am fast running out of extras, I can't post a picture from it! Met up with a lady (Renee) who I met a couple of weeks ago. A fellow musician, we had loads to talk about when we first met, and again today; in fact, we were chatting so much, G & Pauline decided to start walking and asked me to pick them up from wherever they got to! It wasn't too far! I discovered though that Renee is leaving Dubai - for good! C'est la vie. And THAT  is Life in Sunny Dubai. :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.