Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Media One

I had a very early start today - 7:15 exit from home and wouldn't you know it, the water pressure suddenly dropped in the middle of my shower. I couldn't hear the pump go, so I thought the bill for the common areas hadn't been paid by the landlord's rep, but we later found out that there was some work going on nearby and the water had been temporarily switched off. Phew!

Into the day, and after dropping G off, I headed to the Media One Hotel where they have a business floor which offers reasonably priced tiny offices to new start-ups like us. We had been here on Sunday to check the place out, so today, I signed a contract for a year! This hotel is super trendy and has interesting things on every corner. My blip is of the lobby area. Don't miss the monkey lamps!

Met up briefly again with G for lunch. She then had to do a couple more hours while I sat it out in a nearby Mall. Picked her up again and we headed straight to the Bible Society bookshop to get some Christmas presents. That was fun as we were the only people in the shop so I had a good listen to tracks on some of the new Christmas CD's they have!

We were finally heading home, but as we were "in the area", called in at the Bank we were at two weeks ago to submit the new document I acquired in the morning. This is where the day really fell apart. It is too complex to explain the workings of this place, but the outcome was that there is one more document we have to amend before we can formally resubmit our application in order to make withdrawals of the money we collect online using PayPal. It was also very good that both of us were there.

Very glad to be home to recover and reflect on things. You certainly have to take a lot of punches in this place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.