ORCHID

I had a really bad nights sleep which is unusual for me.  I just couldn't nod off - my head was spinning with thoughts and I couldn't  " switch off ". So I'm feeling really tired at the moment - hopefully this means I will sleep well tonight.

It was an early start this morning - Morrisons at 8am with my friend Jan.  The shop was very busy and things were beginning to get sold out. I managed to get everything I wanted - except duck breasts which Neil had requested. Plenty of whole ducks but no breasts.

I popped down to the village to get my repeat prescription but didn't go in any of the shops as I knew they wouldn't have duck.

Later on Susan from across the road came to deliver a Christmas card and I happened to mention that I wasn't able to get duck breasts so she said that she would look out for them when she went to the Co-op.  Later on she called again to tell me that the Co-op did have some - so I will go tomorrow.  Hope they haven't sold out.

This afternoon I got the boxes of Christmas decorations from the garage and finished decorating the tree.

Becky has been " WhatsApping " me today - bored stiff at work as usual.  Absolutely nothing to do.  Its a joke. Her boss went home around 1pm " to check on his builders" and said he would be back at 4.30pm.  Instead of letting Becky go home at the same time he expected her to be there when he got back.  So she had to hang on till her usual finishing time of 5pm.  He did bring her a gift though - a mouse mat. She was " livid " .

I was just about to cook my meal at around 6pm when the phone rang - it was my brother Colin.  He phoned to thank me for the Christmas card which had arrived this morning.  He said he hadn't sent any cards this year as he had been suffering from " the flu"  for 10 weeks. I asked him why he hadn't gone to the doctors and he said he did have an appointment - for 22nd January. Thankfully he seems to be feeling a bit better now and has his appetite back.  Tonight he was cooking a Japanese concoction using tofu ( he's quite an adventurous cook ). He was on the phone for around an hour and a half so my meal was delayed .........but it was lovely to hear from him and to know he's Ok - well as Ok as he will ever be.  I mentioned meeting up in the new year - and he sounded keen - but he always sounds keen and then it never happens.  Maybe 2018 will be THE year.

My blip is of one of the flowers on my orchid plant.  Its a Christmas gift from Neil.  He brought it on Monday just after he had bought it - it was the easiest option for him. He's out on the town in Newcastle this evening - " works night out".  He's at work tomorrow so I hope he's in a fit state.

I had a bit of trouble taking this shot ......Tino was climbing on my back at the time - and he was using his claws to cling on. Never a dull moment with Bengals around.

Steps today -9,856

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.