Twelfth Day of Christmas

On the twelfth day of Christmas 
I looked around to see
Twelve alumni artistes
Eleven+ white balloons
Ten lads - a - leaping
Nine school guitars
Eight making merry
Seve(n)ral friends to see the year in
Six veggie sushi, 
Five gold beers
four choral songs
three saxes  
(and some extras)
Two black crows
but no Asda Christmas pudding luxury 
(cos I ate it)

Our theatre foyer serves as a gallery for both student art works and photos of theatrical productions and alumni who subsequently enjoyed successful professional careers as writers, directors and actors (film, stage and TV) in Turkey and abroad, including the twelve folk pictured here. Probably our most famous alum of more current times is Orhan Pamuk - winner of the 2006 Nobel Prize for Literature, who coincidentally, I watched being interviewed on BBC's 'Hard Talk' last week (here).   Then of course there was the wonderful recital last week from '03 graduate,  Aylin Sezer. Sometimes I look at my students and wonder who will be the musicians, writers, actors of tomorrow.

Well, that's it for my Twelve Days of Christmas series - varying levels of success but I enjoyed my self imposed challenge .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.