The Long Walk, Windsor Great Park

Several times a year there is a large group of women from my church who gather for a walk followed by a light lunch in someone’s home. Today was one of those events and I was actually free to join them. We did a large loop through part of Windsor Great Park (4800 acres!) We intersected this path which is known as The Long Walk. Believe it or not - at the very end of it is Windsor Castle. Maybe if you look very carefully you will see it in the mist. I’ve always wanted to walk the entire length of this path and back again (3 miles each way), but never have. We only crossed it today, so I really will have to go back again and do it myself. I see it often from the air as my flights are coming in to land at Heathrow.

The weather wasn’t ideal today - we didn’t have a downpour but there was a misty rain for much of the walk. The only other time I’ve joined this group for walking was on a day when we went around Dorney Lake in the pouring rain. Sunshine today would have been better but I suppose I should be grateful that it was only light rain.

It was a good afternoon and I met lots of new people, especially over the lunch. My injured knee did very well - walking itself is never an issue, but I do find that I’ve had to slow down somewhat and today’s pace felt like a route march! I was exhausted when I got home and flopped into bed and fell fast asleep for an hour, and was convinced it was morning when I woke up! I wish I could sleep like that every afternoon!

I was up just in time to head to dinner with some friends this evening. We were all tired and ready to chill in front of the TV. We watched a Netflix movie - ‘Another Mother’s Son’ - based on a true story and set on the Nazi occupied island of Jersey during WW2. Whilst probably not ‘great cinema’ it was a good film with just the right amount of tension. Definitely check it out if you’re looking for something to watch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.