The second half of life..

By twigs

The rumour mill

I 'worked' on a project pretty much all day off and on.  It's something I want to do for myself and the deadline will creep up a lot faster than I imagine.  I've been dragging my heels over it, but today I finally began.  The day flew by.

And talking of flying, this evening I noticed quite a few starlings gathering in the tree outside my house.  As I stood and watched them more and more arrived.  I popped indoors to get the camera then went to the front to have a closer look.  Lots of chirping, lots of newbies swooping in from all directions, lots of noise and then, as if by magic, the entire group took to the sky in one amazing movement.  The sound of them taking off in unison was unbelievably soft but audible nevertheless then followed by near silence as they gathered, swooped and flew around the locality high up in the sky.  As they flew more birds joined them; they did a few 'laps' then began to resettle in a tree a bit further along the road.  

I've seen this spectacle a number of times before and whilst the numbers are nowhere near as great as some previous sightings, I got the feeling that they were just in the planning stages.  I'm hoping one of them at least will post their intentions on birdbook and, like teenage parties, the numbers will swell exponentially in the next few days.  I'll be keeping a keen eye out for any developments......

And now - back to the tennis.........

PS They have a lot of tweeting to do to get the group to the scale of some of the murmurations that other blippers have witnessed.....!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.