Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Whoa!

This is a creature that I have wanted to see for a very long time and today was my lucky day because I saw not 1, but FOUR white-nosed coatimundi!  We saw the first three darting across the road as we neared our meeting place in Madera Canyon this morning. All way too quick for photos, although I was beaming just to have finally seen one.  

We met up with Laurie54 for some serious bird photography and were being thrilled by a pair of Hepatic Tanagers when suddenly someone spotted...a Coati!  Looking like a slender cousin of a raccoon, the little Coati proceeded to put on quite a show for a small group of five or so photographers and several equally thrilled onlookers including my parents.  So by 10:30 this morning, I knew I had my Blip.  The rest of the day (and some 400 shots) was just for fun.

The morning at Madera Canyon and the afternoon at Sweetwater Preserve.  In total, I logged 45 species of birds today, including a couple of new birds.  A few favorites in Extra.  Birds featured are male Hepatic Tanager, red-naped Sapsucker, male Anna’s Hummer.

Thank you for sending my Great Horned Owl to the Pops page, and forgive my lack of comments this week.

Xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.