Better than a poke in the eye

I find umbrellas anti-social. This thought struck me as I skittered along a street in Cambridge city centre and almost had an eye gouged by a toff with an oversized one. I was on my way to meet Leigh in Waterstones, where we were originally going to join the ranks of people who 'borrow' books and read them in the café. Leigh wasn't impressed by the food selection so we went somewhere with more hearty, filling fare. I was displaying my Love Always Wins t-shirt from yesterday.

While we were there, someone who was on a trip I led to Southern Africa in 2008 joined a nearby table. A blast from the past, who had dyed her hair, I thought she was in fact someone else who looks similar, who once lived in Cambridge and who was on a different trip in 2005, to South America. Cue much awkwardness although Leigh says I managed to cover up my memory failure.

It was a wholesome morning. I went to yoga early where one of the teachers I like, Hayley, announced that she'll be in Sydney for several months continuing her training. I glanced at the hideous weather smattering the window and commended the wise decision-making.

A group of us who volunteer for the refugee support organisation went to a session with a counsellor/psychologist. She had offered her time pro bono to allow us to talk about problems we've encountered and how we can solve them as a group. It was great to share experiences and good for the wider volunteer network to interact with us trustees.

That spilled over into coffee with Heidi and us catching up on a million and one overdue tasks on a wintry Cambridge street, staring at cakes.

In the evening I packed for tomorrow's trip, and fried onions and other vegetables that will otherwise moulder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.