A time for everything

By turnx3

Devotions

Saturday
Having gone to bed rather late last night, we accordingly were a little late getting up and getting going this morning! It was a gloomy day, with the threat of rain. Roger took himself off to the gym, but I decided to risk a neighbourhood walk. I got most of my walk in the dry, but it did start to rain about five minutes from home, though fortunately at that stage not too heavily. We just had time for a quick bit of lunch before going out to see the Metropolitan Opera simulcast of Tosca at the cinema. It was a great production, with wonderful staging, set, as I generally like it, in the classical way, rather than being brought “ up to date”! A great way to spend a wet wintry afternoon! However, it did mean I got to the evening without having taken a photograph. I still hadn’t done my devotion for the day, so I chose that to be the subject of my Blip. Since music is an important part of my life, I’ve found this book very helpful in my spiritual life. Each day gives you a little background behind the writing of the hymn, suggested Scripture readings, meditations and practical applications. Having read the devotion and Scriptures, I then take the book to the piano, and find the hymn in one of my hymn books and sing through it. Interestingly, the theme for the end of January is worldwide evangelism, which ties in with the sermon series our pastor is doing currently, and posting as I am on Sunday evening, we sang this hymn, In Christ there is no East or West, in church this morning!
One year ago: Pack-up day 2!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.