Celtic Connections Saturday

Neil and I had a long lie and faffed about until it was time to get out and grab a coffee before we would meet up with Jack in the afternoon.
Neil needed also a shave. Since I was not there last weekend no one had pushed him to the barber shop for his weekly grooming. He looked a bit abandoned.
We walked to Queen Margaret Drive and while Neil got made up I looked around what had happened in the last week:

1. The new coffee shop had opened. Comet Piece it is called and the menu does not look too inspiring unfortunately. I also think that the shop looked better here, when they were still doing it up! 
2. Helaine's Shop has a new owner who was decorating. Guess what, it will become another nail bar!! This time an Asian one ..... ! Thats now two new nail bars in our tiny street .... 

When Neil was shaved we thought we try at east the coffee in the new shop, but it was 4:30 pm and they did not serve us anymore as they were closing .... hmm, I would have done differently if I had just opened a new shop. So we went to Sara and gave Jack directions to meet us there.
Jack enjoyed a mocha and we then grabbed a taxi to bring us in the city centre. I picked our Fergie Tickest at the concert hall and we went for an early dinner to the Hula Café. I have not been there for at least 10 years, but food was great and it is a nice place.
At 7 pm we walked to the Pavilion Theatre to see Fergie MacDonald, The Ceilidh King! The theatre is wonderful, i did not even know it existed. It is apparently the last family run theatre in the UK.
The gig was great with loads of stories of and about Fergie, who is some character and almost a legend in the world of traditional music in Scotland. A lot of well known musicians joined and Jack thoroughly  enjoyed this experience.
At half time I went to the bar and saw a woman checking her camera. I was sure it was our fellow blipper Snapper and I was right! Really nice to meet her and hubby! Hope to do so again sometime soon!
After the concert we went to the iconic Horseshoe Bar for a drink and grabbed a taxi home when the pub closed.

It was an eventful day some how and I am happy that we saw the concert. I love Fergie stories!

Blipping a bit more Queen Margaret Drive:
From left to right:
Helaine's shop now taken over to become an Asian Nail Bar
Comet Pieces, the new café
The Yarn Cake - a Knitting Café (run by a German girl)
QM Barbers - Neil's regular

Extra: Fergie line-up with a few other legends on stage!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.