Precious Friends

I have a lovely friend called Queenie who was a good friend of my mother’s. She has lived near Bath for about 10 years and I try to visit her a few times every year. The last time I was there was Christmas Day so today I made the trip over to see her again.

Since my blip-friend Honeycombebeach is on the way, I often stop by to see her on the way there or on the way back from Queenie’s. I was glad that it worked out for all of us today, because Mr & Mrs HCB are leaving for a big holiday to Vietnam in a couple of weeks and I very much wanted to see them before they left.

We had a very pleasant visit over a couple of hours (which flew by!). I helped Mr HCB with a few pieces of his current jigsaw puzzle, while we caught up with news and drank tea and coffee. If you read Honeycombebeach’s blip you will read the funny story of the soup that she tried to find in the freezer for our lunch. I can say that it was very delicious - whatever it was - and it was very warming on what was a cold, dark, and damp day.

I always feel as if I could stay for hours - there’s lots of laughter and plenty to talk about. But I had to pull myself away to drive the remaining 45 minutes to Queenie’s house. I got there in time to have a couple of cups of tea and a piece of cake. She and I also always have loads to talk about and I have to pull myself away in order to not tire her too much. One thing we discussed was what we liked and disliked about our appearance (!). I won’t reveal what she DIDN’T like, but I will tell you that Queenie said she has always been very proud of her hair and how she STILL (at 88!) has almost no grey hair! Isn’t she terrific?

I often work on my knitting while I’m there. Queenie used to crochet and knit when she was younger and today she offered me these two beautiful blankets that she had made years ago. I will treasure them and think they will look very nice in my campervan! I will have to take a picture of them there and send to her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.