Irish Coast

My flight back to London from Houston went a bit more smoothly than the outbound - no unexpected side trips!

I’ve been enjoying using the Flightradar app on my phone. I took this picture awhile before landing this morning and didn’t have a chance to check the map on the plane to see where we were. Sometimes I ask the pilots. I’m always a little concerned to hear them say...”Uh, I’m really not sure!

I knew roughly where we were of course, but when I got home I opened the app and did a search for our flight and then clicked ‘replay’ to see our route. Choosing the satellite version and zooming in to compare the topography, I could see that we were just passing Dublin harbour. Interestingly, we flew over the same spot on our way to Washington last Saturday. See Extra photo. Neither picture is as clear as I would like, but as is obvious, I do love to show off the view from my office window!

I’m glad I got to see such beautiful blue sky and sunshine! Because we landed in wind and rain, thanks to storm Eric, who gave us a very bumpy landing! It was a grey, damp, windy and generally miserable day the rest of the day. But I didn’t mind. It was straight into my PJs when I got home and a nice long nap, followed by a cosy evening in front of my new fireplace! Other than for work, I don’t think I’ll be leaving my front room until summer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.