Happy Memories Of Dolly

After a bad night of sleep with over-active dreams and even nightmares (!) I felt quite exhausted today and never left the house. The on and off rain also had something to do with it! I did have a visit from a friend in the village, though. She came to see my new fireplace and we enjoyed tea and getting caught up on news.

But today was also very special because my dear poodle blip-friend - Alice in Sweden - turned 5 today! I had sent her a package and we had a FaceTime chat while she opened her presents. Which she is able to do all by herself, just like Dolly was able to do. You can read all about Alice’s amazing birthday here!

I then remembered that I had some videos of Dolly’s early birthdays, including her 5th birthday. And when I say videos, I MEAN videos! VHS! Fortunately I have hung on to a VHS player for times like these, and so this evening I decided to watch the video of Dolly’s 5th birthday party! This was September 2004 and it was my first year looking after Dolly, who had been my mum’s dog. My mum was actually still with us, but she was spending a week or two in the hospice so two family friends who Dolly dearly loved helped me to throw a little party for Dolly. I’m sure we must have shared the video with my mum later. No one had smart phones then so I’m not sure how we did it! My blip picture today is a shot from me watching the video.

Anyway - it was fun to watch, especially seeing Dolly so active and bouncy. Dolly lived to almost 18 so it had been awhile since I’d seen her that crazy! She sure did love presents and balloons and cake! I will sometime watch the other videos and maybe get them converted to digital.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.