Churchyard Snowdrops

It was already grey and windy when I went out for a walk at 830 this morning. I knew I had to go out early before Storm Ciara fully descended on our area later this morning.

My back pain felt worse again this morning so I KNEW I had to walk - it’s one of the best things to do - to keep moving. So off I went. I just did a loop around the village and included the village churchyard as I knew the snowdrops were out. I can’t remember what the little yellow flowers are called. It’s such a pretty scene.

I’m sure the walk did me good, but I was discouraged by having more pain today. I stayed home from church (which is not this village one) but watched the church webcast later in the morning. I also watched today’s two cross-country ski races which took place in Falun, Sweden. They were both very exciting!

I FaceTimed my good friends in Sweden because it was Alice’s birthday and of COURSE I had to sing to her and watch her open her presents!

I stayed indoors the rest of the day - the safest place to be with the storm raging outside. I know other areas got it worse than we did with flooding, fallen trees, sink holes and all sorts of other damage. I am very grateful to not have had any damage. In the midst of the storm I had a song bird outside singing at the top of its lungs - I could hear it even with my radio on. The radio soon went off so that I could listen properly. Maybe it was a song of alarm, not of joy? Who knows? But it sure was beautiful!

Thankfully by evening I started to feel lots of improvement in my back. I’m hopeful to be able to be back at work on Tuesday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.