Best friends day!

Have had a lovely day today with two of my best friends Joanne & Karen. I love these girls. We met in Thetford at midday (I was the one who couldn't find the venue, but in the end was only a few minutes late) and then we all took a walk up the road to find a nice hotel with a roaring fire, where Joanne treated us to tea/coffee. We warmed ourselves and started to catch up.

Two and a half hours later we moved on, to a kind of American diner place. It was ok. Fairly empty, but served food all day. There we ate, drank (no alcohol) and chatted lots more. As the light faded, and the waitress was agitating for us to pay the bill, we left to take our photo with Captain Mainwaring. It had to be done. Sadly, selfies are not my forte but this was the only picture with us all, and we look quite happy! Similar to some of our selfies from our Edinburgh trip in April 2016. We had talked about planning another weekend away, and are going to do some thinking about where and when. I'm confident these ladies will come up with something perfect! So look forward to another get together in a month or two. Then we said our goodbyes and separated.

My drive home, via Norwich seemed quicker than my drive there. The phone said it was 59 miles, 1 hour 19 minutes. That was about right coming home in the dark. Going there, she took me down the new NDR to Taverham. It was a scenic route which skirted around Norwich, but I think was a bit longer. I'm glad I went that way in the daylight though, because it took me straight past the Taverham garden/craft centre and I've only been there once. The new NDR at last has a use for me! I will use it again for that purpose!

Home now and feeling pretty tired. Back aching a bit so I'm sitting with a hot water bottle. Jon has gone out to buy fish and chips for him and Henry....and a cream egg and a newspaper for me! A relaxing evening in front of the tv is a good plan I think!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.