A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Resurrection!

I had almost given up on my sourdough bread making.

I haven't made it much since before we went to South Africa before Christmas and on those occasions I've had my doubts about the starters efficacy and been frustrated by finding it difficult to get it out of the Banetton (shaping bowl).

I've spent some time this week working on the starter and been impressed how it has come back to full efficiency, so it was time to give it a try again. With top tips from Gordon (High Pike) for preparing the Banetton I made another dough yesterday. I got it out of the fridge this morning to find it had risen brilliantly AND came out of the Banetton.

Now baked and several slices eaten. On a wet and grey day I thought this was worthy of a blip even though I have blipped an earlier success.

Chris has made celery soup too this morning to use up some celery left from his chicken casserole for the cancelled luncheon club. (We still have three cartons of pouring cream if anyone has any suggestions!) The soup and the bread will be perfect.

That's the only problem it is so tasty I've already had a slice and a half. I can resist cakes, puddings and biscuits but not good bread!
Thank you Gordon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.