A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

A little bit of Cheddar

Spent most of today in Cheddar - yes of the cheese and gorge fame.

Grace's school is there and she was going in to do some exam moderation this afternoon. We went early so that she could go in to see her tutor group with Eda at their tutorial time of 11.00am. With a bit of time to spare we drove up the gorge and saw the wild goats.
After meeting her group who were all delighted with Eda of course, we walked into Cheddar village for a coffee.

She then returned to have lunch with her 6th formers who were equally enamoured of Eda. I got off the hook and had a very nice solo lunch in The Bath Arms.

Then it was my turn to do Granny duty. I returned for Eda at 2.00pm and we set off to walk through the lower Gorge - the touristy bit. Eda was in her pram and after her earlier exertions she soon fell asleep. Popped in a few shops including the NT shop and the real Cheddar Cheese shop and got right up to the Gorge proper in about an hour.
The pretty cottage in the blip was about half way up.

Returning was of course a bit quicker so I was a bit early back. Decided to see the other part of the village around the old church and got back to the school just as all the buses arrived to pick up the students. I walked 4 miles. Eda was awake by this time but quite content. The only problem was I passed a lovely fabric shop three times and on the third occasion I went in and bought some cushions!  She'd only put them in the window today. (I can hear Chris groaning as like most men he sees no purpose in cushions). Just wondering how I'm going to get them home tomorrow!

Thank you for all the love for Eda's Waterbaby yesterday.

See more of Cheddar in this Flickr link

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.