'The Laundry'

Mollie and I have had a nice shopping day at Riverside in Norwich. Time didn't allow us to get into the city as well but I got the few bits I needed. We had lunch in Morrison's but were not impressed. It wasn't a patch on the Cromer Morrison's cafe.

So I managed to get jeans, jeggings and a pair of leggings for £34, then in Matalan some work trousers and a blouse for £26. I thought that was pretty good and only £10 over the £50 cash I had from my dolls house. They should see me through the rest of the year I think. (Unless by some miracle I can lose some weight). I also picked up a giant sack of bird seed for £3.99 & a bucket of 50 fat balls for the same price, which is definitely the best price I've seen anywhere. I like to make sure I always have plenty of food for the birds.

Mollie had an appointment at the hospital for a scan on a lump on her toe. She was in and out in 10 minutes and the lump is just a ganglion. So that is a relief. We had a bit of time, so took a scenic drive back. For my Howard family, this is what my nana always called 'The Laundry'. Her home in the early 1900's and before the first world war. Her mum ran a laundry in that small shed like building to the right, just behind the house. It is on the main road before you enter the village of Barford. It has got me fired up to track the Ketteringham family again, and perhaps try to visit some of the other homes my nana knew as a girl. They moved a lot, as her father had to go where there was work. I can't imagine how hard that would have been, moving your family of possibly 7 or 8 children still at home, plus all your possessions, with just a horse and cart.

Anyway, I love this house. We drove back through the lanes, and through many pretty Norfolk villages. Home about 5.30. We'd prepared a chilli in the slow cooker before we went out this morning, which made things easier when Jon got home - just some rice boiled and bobs your uncle!

Evening with only connect and university challenge. We won't be moving from our sofa!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.