Sheringham

There is a lot of news at the moment about coastal erosion, and this is looking up the coast towards Weybourne. I was reading this morning that the Cromer and Sheringham areas have been given some protection against erosion. Sheringham has huge boulders on the beach at high tide point. Cromer has had some damage in the past few years due to big storms, so I wonder how long before these towns start to see the type of damage Hemsby has suffered. I do hope it doesn't as we like Sheringham.

Today we were awake before 6 as Jon had to drive Henry to school for 6.15am. They haven't gone crazy with early morning revision sessions; just the opposite. A trip to Thorpe Park for the year 11s. He is due back at about 8.30. I couldn't get back to sleep, and Jon had a day in Cambridge running a bushcraft session, so we were both up and dressed by 7!! Jon went off at 7.30 and I took Bracken out. We had a long walk around the village and when I got back I started on the kitchen. Cleaned until Mollie got up, and then we went into Sheringham. Mollie treated me to a Mothers Day tea and scone in a lovely tea room called Whelk Coppers, by the sea. We had tried a couple of other cafes but they were all busy - except one which had no-one in it. We did go in, but after ordering, he said he didn't have any decaf tea. When I said I'd have normal tea then, he said sorry he'd run out of tea!! I think his business is going to struggle. Mollie didn't like me suggesting to him that he nipped down to Sainsbury's and bought some tea bags!

We wandered round the shops, where I bought a few blank cards. Back home we enjoyed lunch in the conservatory, and then gathered some bits together to put in the loft. It is so full of 'stuff' and the prospect of sorting it is daunting, but I did reorganise and shift things around a bit. Then I stumbled on the two large boxes of pension notes from my 25 years at Cambridge. It had about 8 lever arch files full. I was ruthless and spent then next hour at least, emptying the files. My feeling as I did it was a cross between fear and freedom. I hope I'll never need the stuff again. It has gone now. My job doesn't need it. My loft definitely doesnt need it. It filled a big cardboard box and now needs to be burnt!

Jon got home at 5.30 and we've had a nice fry up for dinner. I had 3 fresh eggs laid today and yesterday and you can't get fresher than that. The taste is totally different to shop eggs.

Now we are searching Netflix for a film we will all like. It is a problem for Mollie and Jon because they have me to contend with. I'm not good a films! Signal is rubbish on the tv so it's that or a DVD we've seen before!

I've got to get an early night. I'm driving Mollie to Norwich railway station to catch a 9am train. I didn't know the clocks were going forward when I agreed to It! But it means I'll be home for 10 and we have plans again to tackle the allotment. Today we had the go ahead to swap plots, so we will be starting from scratch tomorrow. Hopefully less clay and less waterlogged as it has been a proper productive allotment until mid 2017!! We are determined to give it a go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.