New plot

The parish council agreed to us swapping our allotment and this afternoon Jon, Henry & i spent a few hours making a start. It meant strimming to begin with, then moving all our bits from the old plot. Henry spent an hour taking down the fence and posts. I moved tables and then emptied our water tank into neighbouring water barrels. It took 3 of us to move the water tank. Then Henry and I refilled it. Jon strimmed about a third of the plot, maybe not that much, and then started to dig. We uncovered a row of what look like blackcurrant, plus a definite gooseberry. Further down where we haven't strimmed yet, we found raspberries and at the far end 4 small fruit trees. It was a good motivator. The part Jon dug had some really nice soil, so I will aim to get it finished over the Easter break, then plant my potatoes.

Earlier in the day, I was up with Mollie (& the larks as they say) to drive her to Norwich station for a 9am train. She has gone to London for a couple of days. I was home about 9.30. Jon and I had breakfast together in the conservatory then he walked the dog, while I made a shepherds pie for dinner. We did bits outside before lunch and then took ourselves off to the allotment for the afternoon. The weather was amazing. I can't believe it is going to get cold again next week!

There are a couple of good things on ITV tonight but we can't get those channels, so I might have to pop next door with my hot water bottle to watch them! Then it has to be bed as I've had two early mornings this weekend, then losing the hour has left me feeling shattered....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.