An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Blip Saboteur...

Back in November when I started an online fine art floral photography course, I was dismayed to realise that to get the best out of the course, the best flowers to use were locally grown and native to the area I live in.  Of course being November, such flowers were, quite literally, thin on the ground, so supermarket flowers had to suffice.  

I contacted a local flower farm (I didn't even know such things existed till I started doing the course) and the owner confirmed the growing season was finished but to get back in touch in April, when the season started again.  At that point April seemed very far away, yet here we are, almost there!  

With longer daylight hours, I have given myself a talking to about using my big camera more and over the past couple of weeks I have made an effort to plan what I want to photograph and get learning again.  It's great because for the first time in ages, I feel excited about taking photographs.

I planned to have fun with the macro lens and my light screen today and when a battered brown leaf was blown in the front door at lunch time, it looked like the perfect subject.  

I got it all set up and took one photo to check I was happy with my settings.  I was, so I re-positioned the leaf to a more pleasing angle.  Finger on shutter release to get the focus and just as I pressed it home, a certain little doggy madam sneaked in and stole my subject!  No denials, the proof is there for all to see.  It made me laugh :) 

If I had been trying to take such a shot it would have taken about 200 goes and even then I doubt I would have nailed it.  Sometimes luck is all that's needed :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.