Cutler

It seemed to be a brighter shade of grey, so I went for a  walk while everyone else was heading to church.  I even spotted a glimpse of blue sky – though it was only a glimpse and it soon disappeared again.  I walked to Easby Abbey and back to town, and made it home just in time, before the rain, sleet and snow.

We took Grandma and Grandad out for lunch to a local hotel.  It was very busy, but the service was good and the food was good – huge portions.  I had my five a day all in one sitting. I also had my first taste of alcohol since Ash Wednesday.

We took a wander home and were all so full of lunch that we had no energy for anything.  I finished Wonder – which I really enjoyed – excellent recommendation by BB -  and  BB was reading Augie and Me – the sequel to Wonder, while everyone else had a snooze.

All too soon, we were packing the car and it was time for the journey home.  The weather seemed to improve as we drove north.  The house was freezing when we got home.  TT’s first job was to light the fire.  We then sat in front of the fire and watched the Agatha Christie drama.

A day lacking in blips – but I did spot this ghost sign yesterday, and we passed again on our way home from lunch.  I pointed it out to my mother in law, who had never noticed it before.  It records another long-forgotten trade – like straw and felt hat maker and bowl maker.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.