Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

There was a lot of bog trotting today! (A number of people were out doing recces for the festival.)

The day dawned dry and bright. By the time I was ready to set off walking, the sky was grey and there was a bit of drizzle around. By the time the rain set in, I was already committed to my 8.5 mile route in the Birtley area. I had my mid-morning break and my lunch in the rain. At least it wasn’t cold. I was soaked by the end of the walk.

There were fields that would have been easier to cross on a (mud) sledge! Conditions worsened and I found it hard going. It felt more like 10 miles than 8.

No one else was walking, although I saw one couple in the distance when I returned to my car. I managed to catch them up and hand out a Walking Festival leaflet, with as much enthusiasm as I could muster!!!

I did find the motte and bailey and a lovely riverside path, that might not be included in my festival walk. I also found a gate that I could not open (hammer may be required on the day) and a stream that was tricky to cross.

Signs of spring were all around, if rather bashful. I found my first primroses, several coltsfoot (which I thought would be over by now), catkins aplenty, tiny leaf buds on the hawthorn bushes and a plethora of butterbur. Here my camera phone came into its own. I had a 35mm lens on the camera and it was no good for the close ups. I have never liked butterbur, but I have to admit that it looks rather wonderful when you get close up and personal with it.

Am I tired? Of course not I am!

I have to collect Margret (next door from the station shortly). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.