Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Rescued!

On 24th March, Nick, Frank and I did a recce for the Festival walk in the Nent Valley. There were a few problems with the route, not least where the path had disappeared into the Nent River.

Today we walked the new route. Part is the same as before but part is new.  The forecast was for no rain. Hooray, I thought. There was no rain, it is true, but we walked in thick mist for most of the day.

The farmers are working very hard to care for the sheep and newborn lambs but it is an uphill struggle. We met this farmer as he rescued a young lamb whose mother has rejected it. She gave birth to this one, but when the twin followed she cared for it and would not feed this one. 

The farmer was remarkably cheerful given the conditions.

Back home and I did a quick turn around before we went to the Forum to see the live streaming of the RSC's Macbeth with Christopher Eccleston in the title role. I'm afraid this production left me cold. I know Macbeth well, because I studied it for O level. (I know that was a long time ago, but I still know it well.....) I would have been hard pressed to follow the plot without prior knowledge. The cuts in the plot were not all logical. There was no chemistry between Christopher Eccleston and Niamh Cusack. Sorry to say it, but it was disappointing.

Other people were more enthusiastic...........

Here is the link to my first rescued lamb blip from a couple of weeks ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.