Red Squirrel

By JJRW

Deception?

Big Deciever.

Another new site today - the small but ancient woodland just a stone's throw from where 'D' lives. - she'd said there are many varieties of fungus in there, so I just had to find out! She was telling the truth too ... some I recognised as also growing in my usual lunch break haunt, Brancondale wood, and some from my paddock area, some not so. There are 2 gates, with a path leading around the edge of the wood, in the centre of which is beautiful pond. Obviously I started at one gate and ended back at the other. I took a good few shots then spotted today's blip.

On the 11th of this month I blipped what I thought may be the Amethyst Deceiver (Laccaria amethystea), another fungus which I've never seen before and (with my passion for purple) have been coveting. But I was corrected by Runhills, who pointed out that certain features made it more likely to be Lilac Bonnet. I was somewhat disappointed .....

So when I saw these today I thought 'Eureka' - I'm feeling pretty certain that at last I've found the elusive Amethyst Deceiver. Oh joy!

I also took this shot , though chose not to blip it due to the rather out-of-focus large one at the front - but that back one certainly is violet if I'm not mistaken!

By one gate is an owl carved into the top of a felled tree - I love it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.