The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

After the parade

I was back in the indoor market today, where the summer weather had brought people out in all their finery. I also saw two pampered pooches being wheeled around in baby buggies. Is this A Thing now?

Nipping out to the bank (actually, three banks) to get some change, I noticed that the trade unionists and members of the Labour and Co-operative party were massing outside the Sub Rooms in preparation for the annual May Day parade around town. They have some fabulous banners, like those seen at Miners' galas. I asked what time they'd be marching, then headed back to my stall.

Back inside, the market was busy and I didn't get the chance to nip out again until 12.30. By that time, it was all over! I'd missed the whole event.
Gutted, I asked the man with the big drum (snare?) If he'd pose for me, but I forgot to ask him to twiddle his drumsticks!

Then I returned to the market. Sales continued to be good, but getting home on foot, uphill, with far too much stuff and no lift from Steve was a challenge. At one point, the wire card stand tripped me up and I ended up sprawled on the pavement, grazing my forearm. I hope no one saw me, I must have looked s right t*t. After that, I abandoned the stands in my friends' garden and went back for them later.

Now we're about to watch Rebus and plan our trips to some Open Studios tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.