Dandelion Clock

Another glorious morning.  I had plans for a long run today, but wasn’t too sure about running in the heat.  I would have much rather have sat having breakfast in the garden, but I dragged myself out – there wasn’t a cloud in the sky, and barely a breeze – it was hot so I ran even slower than normal.  I was glad to have the shelter of trees in places and I really did struggle in the heat – being so unused to it.  Only last Sunday I thought I should have run with a long sleeved base layer on, as it was really cold running into the wind. I somehow made it home in one piece, cutting my run short near the end – but it was still almost nine miles (about a mile shorter than my planned route).  I was pleased to get back to the coolness of our north facing kitchen.

BB came back from church with an Easter egg that had been waiting on him since Easter!  After lunch we headed into Edinburgh, where BB was playing in his first 11-aside football games.  A number of teams were taking part in a mini-tournament, to give them some experience.  I didn’t envy them playing three hours of football in the blazing sunshine – but they seemed to enjoy it.  I was worn out just watching  - but I blame my run!  BB’s team played really well, so hopefully that will continue.

We came home and sat in the garden, enjoying a gin and tonic.  After tea, I went out for a walk by the river to stretch my poor legs.  It was a lovely evening.

I captured this perfect dandelion clock early this morning – it had gone by this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.