DERELICT

Usual trip to Morrisons with my friend Jan.  When I got back home I spotted my next door neighbour Ed - in a wheelchair.  He told me he had a knee replacement last Friday.  Still very painful but he's wanting to get out and about so he was going for a " walk " pushed by his partner Debbie. He's usually very active -  always out riding his bike or taking his dog for a walk so it will be difficult for him to take it easy.

After breakfast I walked down to the village to post a letter and came home through Chase Park to get my blip shot.  I have tagged it for " Derelict Sunday "  which is hosted by Marlieske

I have shown the front and back of a derelict building - and a close up shot of some of the fire damage.

A bit of history - there used to be a large house in the park - I remember seeing it as a child.  It was built in 1714 and was originally called Whickham House but in the 1860's the name was changed to Chase House as the owner at that time was a horse racing fan.

Chase House was a comfortable mansion set in attractive gardens. It overlooked the centre of Whickham village and the parish church and was a symbol of the owners’ wealth and status. It had luxurious interiors, intended to impress guests of similar status. The estate also had stables and a coach house. The house and estate were sold to Whickham Council in 1939 and the grounds were opened as a public park.

In 1940, Chase House was turned into a first aid station in anticipation of casualties from bombing by German aircraft. It was staffed by 40 volunteers.  After the war vandalism led to the house being damaged and it stood derelict until it was demolished in 1962.  The grounds continue in use as a well-used and well-loved public park. 

Whilst the " big house " was demolished the stable block remains to this day but as you can see from my photos its in a bad state.  It was previously used by the Council as a depot for gardeners and workmen but its been unused for quite a few years now and has been the target of vandals who recently set fire to it. The Council seem to have plans to knock it down and build housing on the site but there have been objections to this from villagers. The local history group would like to see money spent on it and for it to be used as some sort of community building to benefit the village.  So we seem to be in limbo at the moment.

When I got back from the village I set to and mowed the front lawn.  It wasn't easy as the grass was quite long.  Then I did some pruning - cutting back the unruly fuchsia bush by the front gate. Then I potted a few pansies which I had bought online. I had almost finished this job when it started raining.  And its rained all evening.  Still warm though.

Steps today - 13,365

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.