NETTLE

I made a slow start to the day and didn't go out until around 2.30pm.  Walked down to the village to get my repeat prescription and then I got the bus to Blaydon.  Had a good look round the shops including the 3 charity shops.

I bought some swordfish in Morrisons and had it for my tea with butternut squash chips and marrowfat peas.  Very nice.

I spotted this nettle flower when I walked down the back lane.  Its the flower of a White Dead Nettle. The leaves closely resemble those of the Common Nettle - the main difference being that they don't have stinging hairs.  Bees are attracted to the flowers which are a good source of early nectar and pollen, hence the plant is sometimes called the bee nettle. Thanks to BikerBear for hosting Flower Friday.

Steps today - 8,762

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.