End of an Era

I was on the early bus today, as I had a lot to pack into my day and it was the end of an era, as my colleague IF was retiring after 45 years.  What an amazing achievement.  After a busy morning another colleague and I took IF out for lunch.  We went for tapas, and had a lovely time, however time was tight as I had arranged for one of our big bosses to say a few words and to make his presentation,  and she could only fit it in at 1.45pm.  We made it back just in time.  She made a lovely speech and ended up doing a double act with IF, as they took us on a journey through his career where we touched on prisons, poetry and police!

I think IF was possibly a little overwhelmed with the cards, gifts and lovely words.

After a short afternoon, we went for drinks and to raise a toast to IF.

Here is the cake made by one of my former colleagues for IF – he will have a lot more time to spend on the bowling green now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.