Plainfield Rail Trail ....

.... North.

We decided to go to a different starting point on the Plainfield Rail Trail today as R had read that the birding there was very promising ....

We weren't that impressed .....

The bird sightings that were listed on the eBird website were no where to be found for us .....

But I did find this handsome Rooster and a couple of his chickens!

After leaving the rail trail we stopped at another place that R had read about ..... a wildflower field that is also good for birding.  This location was more promising and we will have to go back once the flowers start blooming. I'm pretty sure I saw a flycatcher of some sort ... but it was impossible to photograph!

Then .... it was on to Jacobsburg State Park as it's only down the road from the wildflower field.  We checked out the frog pond first and noticed that Ranger Rick had a hummingbird feeder up in this area.  He usually puts one up over at the Education Center .... but that one wasn't up today. There weren't many frogs out today .... but we did see some hummingbirds.

We also met a nice young man (Nate) .... also taking pictures of the hummers.  I told him all about Blipfoto and gave him my card, which has the Blipfoto website on it .... linked to my journal.  He seemed interested in joining so I hope he has. 

One of the things I also wanted to check on at Jacobsburg was the progress on getting my hummingbird picture from last year installed at the Education Center. As you can see by my extra ..... it's up!!!!! And I couldn't be more thrilled!!!  What honor!  I only wish I could have my name attached to it ... but according to Ranger Rick it wasn't possible. Apparently it's a State thing! 

Backblipped: May 25, 2018

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.