Moving

I don't know how, but most of the morning was spent moving more plants to the front garden, releasing more pots for the dahlia's and more moving them into positions! Plus some cutting back of the monster Willow and Fatsia in the front garden to let in more light. Just as we were about to think of lunch the doorbell went - Vegan Jo's husband had come to do the major cutting of the willow and moving of things from the spare bedroom! Bit of miscommunication - when I had texted him he said he was busy next week so how about the weekend - I thought he meant the following weekend as Jo had said he was busy this weekend!
The next 7 hours was a frenzy of activity! Matt loaded the double mattress into his car and then set about the willow - Sister cut the willow branches into smaller pieces. I had the fun of moving everything out from under the bed and behind the clothes hanging rail plus 3 rather large plants! The small toilet and my upstairs room soon became full! I pushed the chair to the door as it too was going to the tip and hoovered the room. Looking at the wardrobe I decided to keep it and paint it as my sister had suggested the previous day! All it needed was a judicious wielding of a hammer to ease the front panel of the door back into place so the door would close - the chair had been stopping it open up to this point! I then cleared everything  from the stairs and hallway to enable the chair to get out the house! Now the front room was also full of shoes, boots and ornaments! Once we were all finished we stopped for lunch! Beetroot and goats cheese burgers in brioche rolls with salad, birthday cake and coffee to finish! 
Matt headed to the tip and sister and I took the pieces of the bed frame into the attic to build it round my existing bed! This makes it sounds easy ...it wasn't! The frame was just a fraction too small to go over the flat slats of my existing bed, much lifting of the heavy mattress to remove the top and bottom slats and make the frame square. It was a beautifully sunny day and the attic was very hot - I was sweating buckets!
Matt returned from the tip and had picked up his shredding machine, he  then spent ages putting the willow through the shredder - no easy job given it was a twisted willow! Sister and I moved the wardrobe, chest of drawers and clothes rails into their new positions. Then we moved the mattress and bed from the small bedroom. 
Time to load matt's car for the next trip to the tip with the willow, chair and various other things I decided were no longer needed! I saved 2 bags of the willow cuttings for my compost heaps! His shredder and ladder were moved into the front room to be collected in the evening! Sister and I made her bed and moved the bookshelf from the small bedroom and everything was put back under the bed and behind the clothes rail, then everything was put back into the hallway and onto the stairs! ( My shoes and bowls of scarves line each step on the left side to the top of the landing incase you were wondering!) Finally a judicious placing of plants,ornaments and paintings and her room was complete! From her bed she can look out the window to the group of trees on the horizon I so often photograph! Time for dinner! Then time for bed! The small bedroom will be tackled tomorrow! How fortunate Matt came as this would have been a horrendous job to have done by myself! 
Oh - blip is of my head made by Cookie Scottorn and sisters gift to me last year! This grass was another of the plants moved in the morning! Remembered in time that I hadn't taken a photo! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.