THE HIGH LEVEL BRIDGE

Usual trip to Morrisons this morning.  Needed to post a letter before noon at a Post Office for my Postal Survey.  However the post box we passed on our way home from Morrisons only has one collection and that was at 9am so I was too late.  So after I had unloaded the shopping and put perishable items into the fridge I popped down to the village post office.

Back home for breakfast and to put the rest of the shopping away.  Then back to the post office to post a parcel ( it wasn't ready earlier)  Then I got the bus to Gateshead and walked across the High Level Bridge to get to Newcastle. 

I took my blip shot whilst walking over the bridge.  Todays Wide Wednesday theme is " lines " Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting.  I think there are plenty of lines in my shot. 

I love this bridge.  It has a roadway on the bottom level with paths either side to walk along.  Then on the top level is the railway line.  It dates from1849 and was designed by Robert Stephenson. The main structural elements are tied cast iron arches. It is Grade 1 Listed.

Once in Newcastle I mooched around the shops including Wilkinsons and Waitrose.  Neil had a Managers meeting in Newcastle today and I had thought about meeting him after it had finished and going for a drink or meal.  However that didn't happen - apparently after these regular meetings they all go out for a " team bonding session". Thats just an excuse to go to the pub I think.

The weather today wasn't up to much - dull and dismal.  Hope the sun makes a reappearance soon.

Steps today - 13,478

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.