Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Western Screech-Owl

You guys are the best.  Never before have I had two photos as high as page 2 of the pops page at the same time.  Thank you so very much for all of the nice comments, stars and hearts.  You certainly filled my heart.  x

 I had been wondering when the Western Screech-owls would arrive in Michele's giant tree so I stopped at her place on the way home from Mom's.  Indeed, they had arrived some time ago.  In fact, this one  was right above where I was standing.  I went home and walked back over to take its picture.  I was able to get less than a yard away from it. I bet if I had a shorter lens I could have gotten even closer.  It's only 8 in/20 cm tall.  You've probably seen birds puff up in the winter to stay warm.  This guy was doing just the opposite, holding his feathers in tight to his body.

As June's MonoMonday host I'm really looking forward to seeing tomorrow's blips!

EDIT:  The news is getting better for my kidneys.  From the 15% function two weeks ago, then  22% last week, -  my new results: 25%.  Still going in the right direction albeit like a turtle.  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.