The Telford Bridge over the River Wansbeck

First of all a big Thank You for all the lovely comments on yesterday's blip - and the stars and hearts. My blip shot has actually reached number 5 on the popular page.  Wow.

Morrisons as usual this morning.  Home to unpack the shopping and have breakfast.  Then I set off to go to Morpeth.  Takes 2 buses there and 2 back so its not a place I go to very often.

Morpeth is the county town of Northumberland and is approx 16 miles away from Newcastle. Its a nice place with lots of individual one off shops as well as the usual ones.  I looked in the Tourist Office where they sell lots of interesting  items hand made by local artists etc.  I bought two birthday cards and a couple of other items which I will give as gifts.

I walked on to the footbridge over the River Wansbeck to take my blip shot of the Telford Bridge.  This old bridge dates from 1831.  I used the Watercolour feature on my camera when I took the photo.  I'm tagging it for Wide Wednesday even though it doesn't fit the theme today which is " colours".  Plenty green and brown but not much else. At least the Watercolour feature made everything brighter. Thanks to steveng for hosting while Bobsblips is on his hols.

As I stood on the footbridge I spotted a heron on the riverbank but by the time I got my camera ready it had flown off.  I have put a shot of it flying away in my Extras.

Also in Extras is a photo of a sculpture of a life size Aberdeen Angus bull which stands on the canopy of The Sanderson Arcade Shopping Centre.  This magnificent bull captures the historic spirit of the market town of Morpeth, where Aberdeen Angus bulls were brought from the borders of Scotland to be sold. 

The weather was warm and mainly dry while I walked round Morpeth but then it began spitting with rain.  The rain got heavier while I was on the bus back to Newcastle and it was still raining when I got home.

Steps today - 10,642

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.