Gawber Churchyard

I was having a wander around Gawber churchyard while I waited for Ann, who had an appointment at the Lymphodoema Clinic, and became fascinated by how young some of the women were when they died.  This is not a very large churchyard so maybe the sample size doesn’t prove much, but the other thing I noticed was that people buried under the polished slate stone memorials, including the couple from Gawber Hall, seemed to live well into their 70’s and eighties.

Earlier in the morning Merv and I did Stirling work on trimming back hedges and tidying up the remnants, and then Ann and I met up with my brother at Cannon Hall.

Gawber is on the North West corner of Barnsley and would probably have been a small farming hamlet at the end of the 19th century. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.