An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

The wrong side of the tracks...

Alan woke at 6am and wanted out of his bed.  I think lying down was making him feel sick.  He wanted a drink of milk and since he'd hadn't been sick since early afternoon yesterday and had been ok after drinking milk yesterday evening, David relented and let him drink some milk.  

By 9am he was being sick again so we had to cancel the planned meeting with the Speech Therapist and the Eye Gaze Rep who were due to visit this afternoon to set up a trial of a new eye gaze machine for Alan.  It's been rescheduled for the beginning of August.

Ally arrived and took over with Alan and I followed David in our car as he took Alan's car to a local car body repair shop (finally getting fixed after someone reversed into it at Edinburgh Zoo a few weeks ago.)  I had taken my camera as I knew we'd be near the railway line and I thought I would get some shots while David booked the car in.  Unfortunately I made the rookie mistake of forgetting to put my camera card in my camera!  Annoying!  Phone to the rescue.  Hopefully I will get another chance when we go back to pick Alan's car up later in the week.

We didn't go out for lunch as we wanted to be home for Alan and incase Ally needed our help so bought sandwiches from the Coop for speed.  

Just before 3.00pm I started to feel a bit seedy and took myself upstairs where, after fighting it for about half an hour,  I was sick.  Afterwards I felt cold and really tired and crawled to bed.  David checked on me and brought me some water then I snuggled under the quilt to get a heat and promptly fell asleep for three and a half hours!  

Woke up feeling very warm and still feeling sick.  David brought me more water, paracetamol and the ear thermometer, which registered my temperature at 38.7.   David took his but it was normal so we know the thermometer is working properly.  

After a few sips of cool water and sitting up, I felt a bit better but felt it best to stay upstairs out of the way for fear of passing anything on.

David texted me at 10.30pm to say he had also been sick and felt seedy.  At this point we felt it was the sandwiches we'd shared at lunch time that was to blame and it was just coincidence that Alan was also sick, but just before midnight we received a text from Alan's support worker Jordan to say he's been really sick all evening, so it appears it's no coincidence after all.  

Jordan is supposed to be on early shift tomorrow starting at 9am but obviously isn't going to make it in. I think David was already asleep when the text from Jordan came in (we have decided it best to be in separate rooms and bathrooms tonight!) so not sure he knows this yet.

If David is recovered enough in the morning we will probably try to look after Alan ourselves as don't want to subject anyone else to this.  I only hope Ally and Sarah who were here today are ok!

Poor David must be feeling bad, he's cancelled tomorrow's round of golf!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.